May 27, 2013

  • Memorial Day Weekend

    Friday: I went to work. I tried to get out early but I asked for the time off too soon so I got out at 5. I went home and finalized all my packing and left my house around 5:30, got gas etc and left to see my bestie Renee. It was my first BIG trip on the high way besides when I went to East Haddam a few months back. Visibility was horrible once I got past rush hour traffic. There was crazy rain and I could basically only see people’s headlights in front and in back of me. I was thankful I got to her house in one piece.

     

    Saturday: We watched lots of Justice League and Justice League Unlimited. I watched hockey too. Blackhawks, Renee’s team, won so that was cool.

     

    Sunday: I visited my old church in Willimantic near Eastern. Everyone was welcoming and happy to see me.  My good friend from there has cirrhosis of the liver and she looks incredibly thin and frail. She’s around 75 so that’s probably to be expected for that age, but still. It concerns me a bit. I hope things can get figured out. I’m not sure what stage she is in. I know early stage can be reversed to an extent. We shall see what happens. I need to be better about calling/emailing her though. All my other friends there look good and are doing well. It makes me happy that there’s more kids there too. That’s really nice :) .

    After church I hung out a big with some church people and then I met up with my friend Jonah from Eastern and we talked about life. It made me think about God’s favor. I told him about how the other day I was talking with someone and gave a really good example. I was like, if I go interview for a job and a candidate is more qualified than me in every way but God wants me to have that job then I’m going to get the job, no matter what. I told him about some of my friends here at home that I am kind of there for but I know they’re not real friends. I mostly feel like I have to model not being a bum and being motivated with a job and school and stuff like that. And that I need to be there for them. There’s a lot of issues there, I just need to be there even though they’ve been kind of mean and exclusive toward me at times. I haven’t seen her in awhile, so we’ll see when we see each other again.

    We went to Dunkin Donuts and Walmart and then I dropped him back on campus since he’s an RA for the summer as well as throughout the year. I’m proud of him. I might have looked into becoming an RA if I had stayed at Eastern. The experience seems like it’s an interesting, slightly fun one.

    Anywho, after that I rode back to Renee’s house. We watched more Justice League, but then we decided we wanted to play some video games and stuff. So we hit up her storage unit and we played Arkham Asylum :D !

    Also we got yummy froyo. Mostly because of her sister’s insistence. lol.

    Monday:

    We finished up Arkham Asylum today. We finished up the episodes of Justice League I hadn’t seen yet. We also watched episode 1 of Firefly, because Renee hasn’t seen it. We’re going to have a few skype dates this week/the next few weeks and watch it and stuff. I’m excited she’s finally getting to watch it with me because I love Firefly!!!!!!!!

    So I left after that. I tried calling my dad back before I drove home, he didn’t pick up. So I drove home, but my GPS was evil and wanted to take me on the Merritt and I was like…NO so I had to stop at a Sonic and get directions to another highway.

    I eventually got home in one piece.

     

    Started unpacking and decided to see if I could get a hold of my dad since he has a super power. He always manages to call me when I am not available to talk to him. I did catch him. I honestly wish I hadn’t of because it is just so unpleasant. 

    I need to do laundry soon. All my clothes that I brought this weekend REEK of smoke. YUCK.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *