May 4, 2013

  • CNA

    So I had my 2nd CNA class this weekend! I think it’s really cool. I know it’s not nursing, but I know there is a lot of overlap and I’m really enjoying it. I can’t wait for when we actually get there and do clinicals. Today we went over handwashing and how to walk with your patient. It was not too bad. And now I’m going to obsessively practice handwashing for the rest of my life lol.

     

    Also there are people in my class from my area!! That makes me really happy for some reason. bleh.

    There is also a guy in my class that looks like Psy. I told him that and he was like “You have nooo idea how much I get that now!” LOL!!!!!

     

    Also, obligatory picture of me in the required scrubs we have to wear to class!! They are HUGE. I’m too tall to get the smalls, so the medium is swimming on me!!!!!!!!!

Comments (5)

  • My advice to you is to not get a job at a nursing home or if you do only make it temporarily so you can get a job at a hospital.

  • @SHEERROSE - That’s the plan. I’m not really sure what i’m going to do job-wise for this but I have some time. I also am doing this as a means to an end to get experience for nursing so my resume is better. Fortunately I’ll probably only be doing this part time so if I do end up in a nursing home it’s not that big of a deal.

  • Okay I know you didn’t ask for my advice but I’m going to give it to you, working as a CNA in a nursing home is tough at my work they are expected to take care of 3-6 people a day if they’re short and they’re short a lot.My coworker worked as a CNA at my work for 6 months and hated it so she quit and came back to the kitchen then she applied for a hospital and she has experience now so they hired her and she loves it.

    I’m not trying to upset you or be a downer but even part time at a nursing home you will be run down and if you’re still doing school it may be hard. Just be prepared for that, and aim for a hospital for the long term.

  • @SHEERROSE - I’m not offended or anything it’s all good. I’ve heard that too. But by part time, I literally mean once a week during my fall semester for a few hours. Even if it’s rough I can probably survive that and hopefully jump to a hospital or something. There’s an assisted living place by me that I want to check out as well. We’ll see what happens. But a hospital is definitely my goal here.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *